Sustainable Academy Awards

Sustainable Academy Awards

The Sustainable Academy Awards celebrate sustainability excellence, innovation and leadership from across Wales. The Awards recognise the amazing people, projects and initiatives that are contributing towards the seven National Well-being Goals and the five Ways of Working described in the Well-being Future Generations Act.

@wales_academy #SAWAwards

The Awards are an ambitious new event which draws on decades of combined experience in the sector from Cynnal Cymru and RenewableUK Cymru. The Awards were held for the first time in 2018, and are a fusion of the Cynnal Cymru Sustain Wales Awards and the Wales Green Energy Awards, organised by RenewableUK Cymru.

With collaboration and connection at the heart of the celebration, the annual Awards Ceremony brings together a diverse audience of businesses, charities and third sector organisations.


170 people attended the 2019 Awards Celebration at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff.


Applications: June – Early September

Applicants are invited to submit a project or initiative from the last year that demonstrates how they are contributing to  the Well-being of Future Generations Act.

Judging: September

Applications are scored against the Seven Well-being goals and the Five Ways of Working.

October: Public Vote

Three successful finalists in each category are selected to go forward to the public vote. The public vote counts for 60% of the final score.

In 2019 over 12,000 individual votes were received across the 24 finalists voting profiles.


The Awards take place each year at the end of November, where we announce the winners from each category.



Sponsorship Opportunities

There are a number of excellent sponsorship opportunities to sponsor categories and various aspects of the event.  To find out more details about what is available, please get in contact with



Awards History

2015 Sustain Wales Awards

2016 Sustain Wales Awards

2017 Sustain Wales Awards

2018 Sustainable Academy Awards

2019 Sustainable Academy Awards