2018 Award Winners

In 2018 the winners of the first Sustainable Academy Awards were announced in an Awards Ceremony in the Principality Stadium in Cardiff.

Organised by Cynnal Cymru and RenewableUK Cymru, the Sustainable Academy Awards, which had Wales & West Utilities as their headline sponsor, celebrate sustainability excellence, innovation and leadership across Wales and recognise work being done by individuals, community groups and the public sector, as well as small and large businesses.

The Sustainable Academy Awards took place on 29 November in the iconic and low-carbon Principality Stadium in Cardiff, where the eight winners were announced from our 24 finalists across eight categories.

Sustainable Academy Award winners 2018

The nine category winners were:

Sustainability Champion sponsored by Natural Resources Wales
Kiri Howell

Sustainable Venue or Space
Wye Valley Sculpture Garden

Sustainable Procurement of Supply Chain sponsored by Arup
Cardiff Met – Plastic Free Pledge

Outstanding Energy Project sponsored by Welsh Government
YnNi Teg Community Wind Turbine

Sustainable Business sponsored by Dŵr Cymru
Jaspels Anglesey Cider & the Anglesey Cider Project

Sustainable Community sponsored by EDF Renewables
Welcome to Our Woods – A Natural Future Upper Rhondda

Outstanding Social Enterprise
Play It Again Sport

Sustainable Education or Training
Coleg Gwent – Cash4Change

Special Recognition Award
Derek Osborn


Our winners share the key things they have learnt:




Sponsors and Partners

A big thank you to our sponsors: Wales & West Utilities, Welsh Government, Natural Resources Wales, Dwr Cymru, EDF, ARUP, Knights Brown and Enterprise.

There are a number of excellent sponsorship opportunities to sponsor categories and various aspects of the event.  To find out more details about what is available, please get in contact with awards@cynnalcymru.com